Safer Uber rides: How to share your trip with loved ones after boarding a cab?

Whether it’s a long drive home, a late night party, or even a trip to an airport in a foreign city, some in-flight rides can be disconcerting. “Call me when you get home” seems to be an ongoing theme every time you book a cab, as our loved ones want to know if we’re going to our destination safely and on time. While most people talk to loved ones in taxis, technology is also helping travelers and their loved ones travel with peace of mind in taxis. Platforms like Uber use technology to improve safety and make passengers comfortable in the back seat.

From pre-drive driver data, vehicle details and estimated time of arrival, to real-time location tracking and 24×7 safety support while driving, drivers are equipped with everything to make them feel safe and supported at every point of their journey. The next time you take an Uber ride, Share Your Ride is one such feature that can give your family and friends peace of mind. Drivers can share their trip details and real-time location with up to 5 “trusted” contacts who will know exactly what’s going on throughout the trip.

How to use Uber’s Share Your Ride?

The next time you ride with an Uber, follow these steps to use the feature:

Step 1: Visit the Uber app on your Android or iOS device and swipe up on the screen to select Share Ride Status.

Step 2: Select the contacts you want to share your travel status with. You can choose up to 5 people from your contact list to share your status with

Step 3: Your trusted contacts will receive a notification showing the driver’s name, vehicle information and live map location

To pre-select your “Trusted Contacts”, go to the “Settings” option in the application menu. Then click Manage Trusted Contacts and select Add Trusted Contact.

Note: You can also share your ride status with other contacts, just click “Send Status” and paste the link generated on WhatsApp or SMS when booking the ride.

Once you share your journey for the first time. Uber provides “shared rides” reminders for your future rides. You can choose one of the following options:

Can’t remember, I share my itinerary manually
Remind me at night (21:00 to 06:00)
Remind me before every ride

Leave a Comment